2023 Waikato National Provincial Championship Squad Announced

Waikato Rugby are pleased to annouce their initial 33-man Bunnings Warehouse National Provincial Championship (NPC) squad for the upcoming 2023 season.

Ayden Johnstone and Mitch Jacobson again return as the co-captains and will provide vast experience in the squad with the two players combining for a total of 112 provincial caps.

This season, eight players have a chance to reach playing milestones. Two players, Ayden Johnstone and Ollie Norris, currently sit on 40 Waikato caps and have a chance of reaching their 50 games milestone later this season. There are six players who are in-line to receive their 18th game Blazer this season, these players are Rhys Marshall (14) Tepaea Cook-Savage (13), Daniel Sinkinson (12), Simon Parker (11), Pita Anae-Ah Sue (9) and Patrick McCurran (9).

Waikato head coach Ross Filipo said, “We are incredibly proud to announce the squad we have selected for the upcoming season. These athletes have shown immense talent, dedication, and a deep understanding of the game. They have earned their place through hard work, discipline, and an unwavering commitment to our team's values.

This squad embodies the spirit of our region. Each player brings a unique set of skills and strengths to their positions. We have full confidence in the abilities of these players and believe that they will uphold the proud traditions of Waikato Rugby.”

Waikato kick-off their 2023 Bunnings Warehouse NPC campaign with three away games, beginning with the Southland Stags on Sunday (August 6). The Mooloo’s first home game will be against the Taranaki Bulls on Sunday 20th August at FMG Stadium Waikato. Purchase your ticket packs for all Waikato NPC matches here: https://mooloo.flicket.co.nz/


2023 Waikato Bunnings Warehouse National Provincial Championship Squad

  1. Pita Anae-Ah Sue (9) Hautapu
  2. Hamilton Burr (38) Hautapu
  3. Tepaea Cook-Savage (13) Fraser Tech
  4. Liam Coombes-Fabling (32) Fraser Tech
  5. Mosese Dawai (24) Otorohanga
  6. George Dyer (22) Fraser Tech
  7. Samipeni Finau (28) Hamilton Old Boys
  8. Josh Ioane (*) United Matamata Sports
  9. Luke Jacobson (28) Hautapu
  10. Mitch Jacobson (72) Hautapu – Co-Captain
  11. Ayden Johnstone (40) Hautapu – Co-Captain
  12. Taha Kemara (5) Te Awamutu Sports
  13. D’Angelo Leuila (21) Fraser Tech
  14. Anton Lienert-Brown (22) University
  15. Rhys Marshall (14)
  16. Patrick McCurran (9) Fraser Tech
  17. Damian McKenzie (37) University
  18. Laghlan McWhannell (30) Hautapu
  19. Cody Nordstrom (*) Te Awamutu Sports
  20. Ollie Norris (40) Hautapu
  21. Simon Parker (11) Hautapu
  22. Cortez Ratima (31) Otorohanga
  23. Te Rama Reuben (6) University
  24. Gabe Robinson (*) Hamilton Marist
  25. Xavier Roe (26) Hamilton Old Boys
  26. Daniel Sinkinson (12) Melville
  27. Bailyn Sullivan (55) Hamilton Marist
  28. Samisoni Taukei’aho (44) Fraser Tech 
  29. James Tucker (59) Hamilton Marist
  30. Solomone Tukuafu (3) Hamilton Old Boys
  31. Mason Tupaea (*) Hamilton Marist
  32. Quinn Tupaea (32) Hamilton Old Boys
  33. Gideon Wrampling (18) Hamilton Old Boys

() = caps for Waikato

* = Debut

Article added: Monday 17 July 2023


Latest News