Waikato Rugby Union - Community Rugby Hub



​​​​​​​Waikato Rugby has a proud history of community rugby across our province, and we continue to strive to provide quality experiences for all of our participants. 

We have a range of competitions for all participants from senior mens & senior women's, age & weight restricted grades, right down to rippa rugby for the smallest of future rugby stars. 

With over 30 clubs and 25 Secondary Schools across the Waikato, there are plenty of playing, coaching, refereeing and volunteering options across all levels of our community game. 

Click on the links below to find out more information, or the Sign Up button to find your club or school for 2024. 

Waikato Stronger Through Rugby

The Waikato Club Rugby has been played since the 1870s and a number of clubs founded in this decade. The Waikato Breweries competition has a long proud history, dating back to 1966 with Kereone and Marist St Patricks joint winners. In 1967 both Waikato sub unions joined and Putaruru Athletic the inaugural winners.

12 clubs have won the Waikato Breweries Shield in its 54 years of existence. Hamilton Old Boys have been the most successful club with 16 titles. Fraser Tech are next with 13 Breweries Shield wins, followed by Hamilton Marist with nine. 

Since the finals format started in 1983 Old Boys has now become the most successful club with 11 wins followed by Tech with 10 and Marist have seven. Fraser Tech have appeared most times in the final - a remarkable 20 times out of a possible 33 finals. Old Boys (19) and Marist (11) are next.

Waikato Women's Club Rugby was founded in 1988 and has continued to grow with more teams in 2024 competing for our Gallaghers Womens Premiership. While our U85kg & Colts Competition have a strong following with an increase in teams competing in those respective competitions. 

For more history about the Waikato Club Rugby click here

Waikato Club History

1966: The Waikato Club competition Breweries Shield was first played for and presented to two teams, who drew the final, Kereone and Marist St Patricks Te Awamutu. Kereone player Bill Aitkin sits with the shield below.