Waikato Rugby Union - Community Rugby


Waikato Stronger Through Rugby

The Waikato Club Rugby has been played since the 1870s and a number of clubs founded in this decade. The Waikato Breweries competition has a long proud history, dating back to 1966 with Kereone and Marist St Patricks joint winners. In 1967 both Waikato sub unions joined and Putaruru Athletic the inaugural winners.

12 clubs have won the Waikato Breweries Shield in its 54 years of existence. Hamilton Old Boys have been the most successful club with 16 titles. Fraser Tech are next with 13 Breweries Shield wins, followed by Hamilton Marist with nine. 

Since the finals format started in 1983 Old Boys has now become the most successful club with 11 wins followed by Tech with 10 and Marist have seven. Fraser Tech have appeared most times in the final - a remarkable 20 times out of a possible 33 finals. Old Boys (19) and Marist (11) are next.

In 2022 we see our top 10 clubs playing out in the Premiership competiting for the Breweries Shield, with the next 10 clubs playing in our Divison 1 Competition playing for the Mooloo Shield and our Dvision II competition competiting for the Alpha Hotel Cup. 

Waikato Women's Club Rugby was founded in 1988 and has continued to grow with more teams in 2022 competing for our Gallaghers Womens Premiership. While our U85kg & Colts Competition have a strong following with an increase in teams competing in those respective competitions. 

For more history about the Waikato Club Rugby click here

Waikato Club History

1966: The Waikato Club competition Breweries Shield was first played for and presented to two teams, who drew the final, Kereone and Marist St Patricks Te Awamutu. Kereone player Bill Aitkin sits with the shield below.