Waikato Team Named for Second Ranfurly Shield Defence

Waikato has named their team to face Southland in their second Ranfurly Shield defence when the two sides meet at FMG Stadium Waikato on Saturday afternoon in week seven of the Mitre 10 Cup.

Waikato head Coach Jono Gibbes has made a few changes to the starting XV and four changes to the reserves. There is only one change to the front row with hooker Sekope Lopeti-Moli getting his first start of the season, trading places with Samisoni Taukei’aho who will make an impact from the bench.

In the locks, Tim Bond, returns from his rest week and joins James Tucker to make up the second row. Bond’s inclusion sees Laghlan McWhannell move to the reserves to cover the locks position.

There is only one change to the backline, after making his Waikato debut last week from the reserves, Jordan Bunce, will make his first run on start at fullback taking over from Matty Lansdown, who moves to the reserves.

On the bench, Toby Smith and Jordan Manihera return from injury, while Pepesana Patafilo has been named as backs cover in jersey 23 and gets his chance to add to his one Waikato cap he picked up earlier this season against Wellington.

FMG Stadium Waikato will play hosts to a double header with the SKYCITY Hamilton Waikato Women’s team playing the Manawatu Cyclones from 11.35am in week 5 of the Farah Palmer Cup, followed by Waikato’s Ranfurly Shield defence against Southland in the Mitre 10 Cup at 2.35pm.

Waikato take on Southland at FMG Stadium Waikato on Saturday afternoon, kick-off is at 2.35pm.


1.    Ayden Johnstone (Hautapu)

2.    Sekope Lopeti-Moli (Hautapu)

3.    Joshua Iosefa-Scott (Melville)

4.    Tim Bond (University)

5.    James Tucker (Hamilton Marist)

6.    Adam Burn (Hamilton Old Boys)

7.    Mitch Jacobson (Hautapu)

8.    Murray Iti (Otorohanga)

9.    Jack Stratton (University)

10.  Fletcher Smith (University)

11.  Sevu Reece (Hamilton Old Boys)

12.  Dwayne Sweeney – Captain (Morrinsville Sports)

13.  Quinn Tupaea (Hamilton Old Boys)

14.  Tyler Campbell (University)

15.  Jordan Bunce (Fraser Tech)



16.  Samisoni Taukei’aho (Fraser Tech)

17.  Toby Smith (Hamilton Old Boys)

18.  Sosaia Fale (Hamilton Old Boys)

19.  Laghlan McWhannell (Hautapu)

20.  Jordan Manihera (Hamilton Old Boys)

21.  Raniera Takarangi (Hamilton Old Boys)

22.  Matty Lansdown (Fraser Tech)

23.  Pepesana Patafilo (Morrinsville Sport)

Article added: Friday 28 September 2018


Latest News