2018 Waikato Mitre 10 Cup Squad Announced

Waikato has announced a 37-man squad ahead of the 2018 Mitre 10 Cup season.

This year’s squad features nine new faces that have the chance to play their first cap for the province. Earlier this year Fletcher Smith, Jack Stratton and Quinn Tupaea were announced as signing to the squad. They are joined by first year Waikato players including former Bay of Plenty and Sunwolves player Timothy Bond (Lock), Bayleys National Sevens Player of the Tournament, Jordan Bunce (Fullback), the Otorohanga duo of Haereiti Hetet (Prop) and Mosese Dawai (Outside Back), University of Waikato: Waikato Under 19’s player Niven Longopoa (Outside Back) and Wellington loan player Pepesana Patafilo (Midfield Back).

Returning to the province to add to their provincial caps are players Toby Smith (Prop), Michael Mayhew (Hooker), Jono Armstrong (Loose Forward), Murray Iti (Loose Forward) and brothers Declan O’Donnell (Outside Back) and Kylem O’Donell (Halfback). 

For the first time in Waikato’s long proud history the squad features two sets of brothers as Declan and Kylem O’Donnell join Jacobson brothers, Luke and Mitch. The Jacobson brothers were the first set of brothers to play in the same side for the province in 24 years since the Coventry’s back in 1994.

A bulk of the Waikato squad has been selected off their strong performances from the recently concluded Waikato Club Rugby competition. Waikato head coach Jono Gibbes said, “The strong club competition this season has helped prepare the players for the upcoming campaign. The player’s energy levels are high and we need to sustain this level in this high pressure competition”

“The challenge for us and our playing style is to reflect the core values of the province, its supporters and sponsors.” Gibbes said.

Among the 37-man squad are ten full-time Super Rugby players and two current All Blacks representatives. All Blacks Damian McKenzie and Anton Lienert-Brown will have very little game time due to International commitments. 

Waikato's 2018 Mitre 10 Cup campaign begins in Palmerston North against Manawatu at Central Energy Trust Arena on Saturday August 18. The first home game at FMG Stadium Waikato is against North Harbour on Saturday 25 August. 


2018 Waikato Mitre 10 Cup Squad


Sefo Kautai (20) Hamilton Marist

Toby Smith (50) Hamilton Old Boys

Ayden Johnstone (9) Hautapu

Josh Iosefa-Scott (8) Melville

Haereiti Hetet (*) Otorohanga

Atu Moli (18) University

Samisoni Taukeiaho (11) Fraser Tech

Sekope Lopeti-Moli (1) Hautapu

Mike Mayhew (3) Hautapu

Laghlan McWhannell (2) Hautapu

James Tucker (22) Hamilton Marist

Sam Caird (7) Hautapu

Tim Bond (*) University

Jono Armstrong (18) Hautapu

Luke Jacobson (10) Hautpau

Mitch Jacobson (26) Hautapu

Adam Burn (44) Hamilton Old Boys

Jordan Manihera (20) Hamilton Old Boys

Jahrome Brown (1) Melville

Murray Iti (17) Otorohanga



Raniera Takarangi (1) Hamilton Old Boys

Kylem O’Donnell (8) Melville

Jack Stratton (*)

Matty Lansdown (10) Fraser Tech

Fletcher Smith (*) 

Damian McKenzie (24) University

Bailyn Sullivan (7) Hamilton Marist

Quinn Tupaea (*) Hamilton Old Boys

Pepesana Patafilo (*) Morrinsville Sports

Dwayne Sweeney (82) Morrinsville Sports

Anton Lienert-Brown (19) University

Mosese Dawai (*) Otorohanga

Jordan Bunce (*) Fraser Tech

Niven Longopoa (*) Fraser Tech

Sevu Reece (22) Hamilton Old Boys

Declan O’Donnell (29) Melville

Tyler Campbell (13) University


() = caps for Waikato

* = uncapped


Photo Credit: Lauran Robinson 

Article added: Thursday 09 August 2018


Latest News