Join us on one of our social networking sites

Waikato team announced to play Tasman

26 September 2012


Waikato has made three changes to their starting line up for Thursday night’s match against Tasman at Waikato Stadium (kick-off 7.35pm).

There is one change to the front row and another in the loose forwards, while there is also a positional switch in the outside backs.

Latu Talakai comes in at loosehead prop for his first game of the season in place of Toby Smith, and Rory Grice gets another start at blindside flanker with Matt Vant Leven dropping out.

In the backs there is one change where Trent Renata moves to bench, Tim Mikkelson switches to fullback, and Joe Webber comes on to the wing.

Jackson Willison will start again at second five in what will be his 50th match for the province.

Waikato coach Chris Gibbes said his team are looking forward to taking on Tasman at home this Thursday.

“Our games with Tasman over the years have been hard fought and we expect nothing less this time around.”

Tasman has been in decent form and are currently in the ITM Cup Championship top four.

“We have focused this week on being more consistent and we will need to be against the Makos,” Gibbes said.

“We have been building on what we did well against Canterbury and are looking forward to this opportunity.”


 The Waikato team to play Tasman at Waikato Stadium in Hamilton this Thursday (kick-off 7.35pm) is:


1.    Latu Talakai (Fraser Tech)

2.    Vance Elliott (Hamilton Old Boys)

3.    Ben May (Te Awamutu Sports)

4.    Chris Middleton (Te Awamutu Sports)

5.    Sam Kilgour (Hautapu)

6.    Rory Grice (Otorohanga)

7.    Zak Hohneck (Otorohanga)

8.    Alex Bradley [captain] (Morrinsville Sports)

9.    Brendon Leonard (Morrinsville Sports)

10.  Piers Francis (Hamilton Marist)

11.  Joe Webber (Hamilton Marist)

12.  Jackson Willison (Otorohanga) (50th game for Waikato)

13.  Save Tokula (Fraser Tech)

14.  Declan O’Donnell (Melville)

15.  Tim Mikkelson (University)


16.  Kalem Chan Boon (Hamilton Marist)

17.  Ted Tauroa (Otorohanga)

18.  Anthony Wise (Otorohanga)

19.  Jono Armstrong (Te Awamutu Sports)

20.  Tawera Kerr-Barlow (Hautapu)

21.  Sam Christie (Fraser Tech)

22.  Trent Renata (University)

Post a Comment

Game Info

  • Round 1

    Fri, Aug 14th at 6:05pm
    at Waikato Stadium
  • Round 2

    Sat, Aug 22nd at 2:35pm
    at Palmerston North
  • Round 3

    Sun, Aug 30th at 2:35pm
    Bay of Plenty
    at Tauranga
  • Round 4

    Sat, Sep 5th at 2:35pm
    at Waikato Stadium
  • Round 5

    Thu, Sep 10th at 7:35pm
    at Waikato Stadium
  • Round 6

    Fri, Sep 18th at 7:35pm
    at New Plymouth
  • Round 7

    Wed, Sep 23rd at 7:35pm
    at Christchurch
  • Round 7

    Sun, Sep 27th at 2:35pm
    at Waikato Stadium
  • Round 8

    Fri, Oct 2nd at 7:35pm
    Counties Manukau
    at FMG Stadium Waikato
  • Round 9

    Fri, Oct 9th at 7:35pm
    Hawke's Bay
    at Napier
  • Semi Final

    Sat, Oct 17th at 7:35pm
    ITM Cup
  • Final

    Sat, Oct 24th at 7:35pm
    ITM Cup
Buy Tickets » Draws & Results »